Old Friends

I have to preface this story by saying that my friend Sean is the kindest person you could ever meet. He used to be a Catholic, then a Buddhist and now he’s a Hindi. He used to be a drug addict and an alcoholic and now he’s sober. He volunteers in all sorts of ways for recovering addicts and for AIDS patients. He is also incredibly handsome and charming. Part of his charm is that he has no filter. Sean was my first gay friend and I have learned so much about the gay culture through him. Anyway, Sean was in town and we had a party at my friend Mark’s house. We are all childhood friends.

Sean has his own very successful landscaping business in Los Angeles. He was showing us pictures on his new iPad of some of his work. His clients are very high profile – lots of Oscars and Emmy’s line their shelves. Every now and then, a penis picture from a gay dating site would interrupt the landscape ones. Sean was completely unapologetic about his unorganized photos – just said “yeah, I need to put those in a different folder.” And then he’d linger on a photo and say, “But that one’s nice, right?” And then my straight friend, Mark, chimed in “Hey buddy, I don’t mind the penis pictures, but a nice titty shot every now and then would be nice.” Both guys just laughed, shrugged, and moved on. I felt like I was in a sitcom. Soon we were back to looking at fancy patios and pools, but to be honest, I was hoping for more interruptions in the landscaping photos.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Friends

  1. Michelle says:

    That is so perfectly Sean

Leave a Reply

