Facebook Love/Hate

facebook

 

am·biv·a·lence (noun) – the coexistence within an individual of positive and negative feelings towards the same person, object, or action, simultaneously drawing him or her in opposite directions.

I have a love/hate relationship with Facebook.  I love it because it helped me reconnect with a college roommate.  I love it when my “friends” are witty and post funny things.  I do like seeing their kids and their accomplishments.  I also like it for up to date community news – like, “why did all those fire trucks go down my street?”

I don’t really hate Facebook.  That is too strong of a word, but I struggle with parts of our relationship.  It is a big time waster.  I mean, do I really need to spend my time reading about what my “friends” had for dinner – or reading about their order at Starbucks?  No, I really don’t care.  But the biggest time waster is ME.

My friend, Kay, and I go through phases where we “Facebook stalk.”  (Facebook stalking involves viewing someone’s profile, but not actually friending them.)  It usually involves an old high school classmate.  Kay is more in touch than I am with people from high school and she happily accepts “friends.”  I don’t know why I’m such a snob.  I will happily read their profiles, but I don’t want to “friend” them.  I mean, if I barely knew someone in high school, I’m really not interested in reconnecting.  But then Kay will tell me something about someone and I just have to look!

Last week,  I got a Facebook message that said “S.G. has accepted your friend request.”  WHAT??  I didn’t mean to “friend” him!  Luckily, he’s a nice guy and he is not an annoying “over poster.”  But then I was left wondering … how often do I inadvertently try to “friend” the people I stalk?  Geez.  I really need to find a more productive way to waste my time.  Or at least be more careful.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Facebook Love/Hate

  1. Julie Crain says:

    It is a total time suck. But so fun. I think I have the same kind of feelings about it as you do!

  2. aggiekesler says:

    Haha…I can totally relate! 🙂

  3. Tara Smith says:

    Funny! It took me a while before I was able to figure out my relationship with FB.

  4. Leigh Anne says:

    There are 8 of us from high school that still connect after 33 years! The last time we got together we found out that there were 4 of us that were Facebook holdouts! I am one of those. We all said the same thing about there being more productive ways to wasting our time! Thanks for sharing this!

  5. K. Renae P. says:

    Ha! I thought I was the only person who friended people on accident whilst stalking.

  6. Kay Swenson says:

    If you ever decide to stop wasting your time stalking, you know I will always keep you up-to-date. Gotta go waste some time stalking now!

Leave a Reply

