My Favorite Season

NFL_footballMy favorite season is upon us.  No, it’s not back to school time.  It’s not Fall.  And it’s certainly not the months leading up to Christmas.  It’s football season!  More specifically, it’s fantasy football season.

I grew up in a household where sports were a priority.  As a kid, I remember wheeling the TV into the dining room on Thanksgiving so that we could watch the games.  As a teenager, I would try to sleep in as late as possible on Sundays so that the 1:00 pm start time would feel sooner.  When my husband and I got back from our honeymoon, my dad greeted us at the airport with Redskins tickets.  No matter what was going on in our lives, football was a unifying factor.  We could all agree that we wanted the Redskins to win.  A win meant everyone was happy on Monday and a loss meant that the entire household was grumpy (but unified!).

Well, the Redskins have not been good for years.  I was introduced to fantasy football right around the time that the Redskins began their downward spiral.  My first fantasy football experience was calculated by hand.  It was a single head to head game and the stakes were simply a case of beer.  I won.

It’s hard to explain why I find such joy in this game.  I am now in two leagues.  I listen to fantasy football podcasts.  I know way too much about all 32 NFL teams.  I stay up late on Monday nights to watch two teams that I don’t care about – but I do care about who gets the touchdowns or who gets the interceptions.  It’s not rational.

I have since won several Championships and, at the very least, I usually make the playoffs.  I have always been the only girl in each of my leagues, so the victory is just a bit sweeter.  But I have this fear … I have been very good at fantasy football ever since the Redskins have been bad.  What if the Redskins get good?  Is my fantasy football success inversely tied to the Redskins failures?  The Redskins do not appear to be putting my fantasy football success in jeopardy.   I can’t decide how I feel about that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Favorite Season

  1. elsie says:

    You pose an interesting question. Hmmmm, wonder if you are right? Everyone has to have a passion, glad you found yours.

  2. Tara Smith says:

    My son is very involved in fantasy football – and it sounds like lots of fun. I’m a baseball girl, a member of the Red Sox Nation. Football just doesn’t make sense to me…

  3. Kay Swenson says:

    I just can’t relate. When it comes to football, I can’t know.

Leave a Reply

