My Virtual Friends

tvI love Netflix.  I love my On Demand TV channels.  They provide me a portal into exciting worlds.  I mean, how else would I be able to fight terrorists in Pakistan or to live along side a crime boss in New Jersey?  I have felt the pain and the elation of coaching a high school football team.  I know what it’s like to be a soccer mom and to secretly deal drugs.  I know how the mind of a serial killer works.  I know what it’s like to be a Soviet spy living in DC in the 1980’s.

I know so many things!  I know that I actually miss these people when the series is over.  I also know that my real life is pretty boring compared to my virtual friend’s lives.  But that’s ok.  In reality, I don’t want to deal drugs or to carry a gun or to be in the mafia — but for a few hours at time, I certainly enjoy the ride!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Virtual Friends

  1. aileenhower says:

    I felt like the family in Parenthood was mine. Cried like a baby when it was over. Television is my guilty pleasure. Glad to see I’m not alone.

  2. Jill Stalter says:

    This post is great! I also love my virtual friends. Very well written!

  3. lalalalark says:

    I think a lot of people can guiltily relate to this post– my new favorite is The Office. I have a terrific time picking which characters I would choose to be friends with if I was in the office with them.

Leave a Reply

