Grown Up Girlfriends

girlsweekendAs a grown woman, one of the things that I treasure most in life is the friendship of my girlfriends. I am still close with my childhood girlfriends.  These are the girls who knew me before puberty. They vacationed with my family. They had crushes on my brother. We knew each other before we had ever kissed a boy or had experienced peer pressure.  We had no secrets.

I recently went on a trip with these childhood friends.  Nothing can replace the casual intimacy of 37 years of friendship.  We talk, talk, talk. We talk about our kids, our husbands, our sex lives, our health issues, our disappointments, our hopes. It’s always supportive. It’s often accompanied by alcohol, and it’s always accompanied by laughter. As soon as the trip is over, we can’t believe all the things that we forgot to talk about.

I wish I could spend endless lazy summer days with these ladies, but geography and our grown up lives prevent that.  But the bonds that we share carry through until next year.  We already know our plans …  eat, talk, drink, stay in PJ’s, laugh.  We just need a date.  I’ll be there!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grown Up Girlfriends

  1. Oh, how fortunate to have girl friends. They make the world an easier and more fun place to live. Your trip sounded like so much fun.

  2. Amy Whelan says:

    I don’t know what I’d do without all the wonderful women in our lives. As we get older, it is truly necessary to keep sane!

  3. Tara Smith says:

    Nothing like these old, treasured friendships!

  4. elsie says:

    What a gift you give each other! Those are the bonds that will last your lifetime. I’m envious!

  5. Dana Murphy says:

    What a gift. Loved these lines: We talk about our kids, our husbands, our sex lives, our health issues, our disappointments, our hopes. It’s always supportive. It’s often accompanied by alcohol, and it’s always accompanied by laughter.

    Sounds like a beautiful friendship among all of you!

Leave a Reply

